Live Tweeting: the Good, the Bad and the Ugly

11 Apr

I am a member of the LSU chapter of PRSSA. We had a meeting earlier this evening, and I thought I would share something unique that we do. We “Live Tweet” at all of our meetings.

Basically, this means that members at the meeting send out tweets with our special hashtag: #geauxPRSSA. Then anyone who could not attend the meeting can follow the conversation via the hashtag. We are all encouraged to participate in the Live Tweet because every person is going to find different things interesting and, that way, people who could not attend the meetings can still follow along.

I think Live Tweeting events can have both positive and negative consequences. It can also have some unintended problems.

The good:

Live Tweets are an innovative way to get multiple perspectives on an event. I enjoy reading what other people tweet, even when I am at the meetings, too. I like seeing what other people think is important. Also, if I miss something, chances are that someone else tweeted about it.

When I had to miss a meeting because of tests, I pulled up the #geauxPRSSA feed and checked what was happening at the meeting. Even though I could not get the full effect of the presentation, it was nice being able to follow along and get a few tidbits even if I couldn’t get everything.

The bad:

Live tweeting is not all good though. It has some things that bother me.

My biggest complaint about live tweeting is that I have to see people live tweet at events I do not care about. My twitter feed gets clogged with random tweets that do not seem relevant. Tweeting is good; I just think that it is important to send out tweets that interest your followers.

My other biggest complaint: the misuse of twitter. People will tweet anything. It is not necessary to chronicle every small detail. Instead, just pick out main points and things that are especially interesting or relevant. I like seeing when people tweet interesting things that happen, just not everything that happens.

The ugly:

While live tweeting today, I realized that even when done well, it can still result in awkwardness. Without proper context, some tweets sent out just do not make sense.

For example: I tweeted, “If you do an excellent job for a client, they are more likely to use your services again. #geauxPRSSA” Then I thought about it realized that if my followers did not know that I was live tweeting  at a PRSSA meeting with a focus on event planning, that it would seem like I was just tweeting random tips. This might not necessarily seem like a bad thing, but it ties into my complaint about clogging up the feed.

I think I need to send out a preliminary tweet saying that I am about to start live tweeting about a specific topic, so everything will make sense.

Overall, I like the idea of live tweeting and think that it will evolve into a popular use for twitter. In fact, twitter has a service called TweetChat that allows users to type in a specific hashtag and follow its conversation. This is an especially useful tool for things like Live Tweets and Twitter Chats that have many people all tweeting about one subject. I recommend trying it out if you want to give live tweeting a try.

One Response to “Live Tweeting: the Good, the Bad and the Ugly”

  1. PRSSA at LSU April 15, 2013 at 12:12 am #

    Reblogged this on PRSSA at Louisiana State University and commented:
    One of our members, Kelli Griffin, has some great input on an activity our Chapter implements a lot: live tweeting. We livetweet at every meeting, and Kelli always has something great to add to the conversation. See her take on livetweeting as she discusses the good, the bad and ugly.

Leave a Reply

